GF Fudge Brownies (no egg)

Over the last 18 months, I have completely changed the way I cook and eat.  I don’t eat gluten (although I keep my sourdough starter alive in the fridge just in case) and I avoid eggs and soy for various reasons.  Dairy and grains in small quantities are ok.  I try to stick with whole foods and meals are centered around vegetables.  Not to worry, I don’t have my kids on any strange diets, they are just generally picky and complain whether I serve them french fries or kale.  So kale it is!  Refined sugars in small quantities are a fun indulgence considering I love baking.  This brownie recipe is the first sweet that is worth reporting in all this time!

Thanks to Petite Allergy Treats for inspiring this recipe.  Use only Bob’s Red Mill flours. I had to make 2 batches of these in one day to figure that out!

INGREDIENTS
1¼ cup gluten free basic white flour blend
¼ cup tapioca flour
1 1/2 cup sugar
1 cup dutch processed cocoa

¼ tsp baking soda
2 tsp guar gum
pinch of salt

1 egg substitute (1 tbsp flaxseed meal + 1 tsp Chia seeds, combined with 4 tbsp water)

½ cup + 2 Tbsp milk of choice
1/4 cup oil
1/4 cup butter (melted)

2 tbsp espresso powder
1½ tsp vanilla

 

INSTRUCTIONS
Make flax egg and set aside until fully hydrated and thickened.  Combine dry ingredients and set aside. Combine milk, oil, melted butter, vanilla and espresso powder. Mix well and allow batter to sit for at least 10 minutes allowing the flours to hydrate.

Spray or line an 8×8 pan with parchment paper for easy removal. Evenly spread batter.
Bake at 350 degree F for 25-27 minutes. Check the center around 25 minutes. If you want an extremely gooey center take the brownies out now, for a more firm crispy brownie with a dryer texture check again at 29 minutes.
Allow to fully cool before cutting an removing from pan.

 

One thought on “GF Fudge Brownies (no egg)

Leave a Reply

