Baby Lentils

As in lentils for baby to eat.  She gobbled them up.  So did I.  I just purchased a slow cooker and need to catalog my experiences so that I can repeat successes.  I originally got into lentils when making Lentil Burgers for my son a few years ago.  They were a huge hit, but also a huge effort. While W does like her finger food, she’s also still amenable to the spooned stuff so I thought I’d try a soupy version and adapt if it got rejected.  No need!  Enjoy.

I really need to add to my crockpot/slow cooker repertoire so send me your recipes if you have good ones.  Thanks!

Baby Lentils

4 C chicken stock

1 C french green lentils, picked over, rinsed

3 carrots, small dice

1 stalk celery, small dice

1/2 C onion, minced

2 cloves garlic, chopped

2 slices bacon, cut into lardons

Throw everything but lentils in the slow cooker for 2 hrs on High.

Cook bacon in a 10 in saute pan until crispy. Drain on paper towels.

Add bacon and lentils and cook for 1 hour on High.

Add salt and pepper to taste.

Leave a Reply

