Almond Toffee

I’ve made dozens of batches of this and it always disappears quickly.  I wish I still had time to read Southern Living because I have several recipes that I make year after year that I found there.  This is the recipe that has sparked the debate of whether to share/post all my secret recipes or keep all the glory for myself.  Since this is billed as a “recipe journal” it actually benefits me to have all my recipes in one place.  Hopefully posting the really good recipes won’t eliminate all requests for me to cook them in the future. Seems to me that you can lead a person to a recipe but you can’t teach him how to cook.  I’m always getting my idioms wrong but I’m sure that that one is completely adulterating the original.  You get the point.

Almond Toffee (Southern Living)

Makes 1.5 lbs

Prep 10 min, cook 20 min, chill 1 hr

1 ½ C sliced almonds

1C sugar

1 C butter

1 tbsp light corn syrup

¼ C water

1 C semisweet chocolate morsels

Spread 1 C almonds into 9 inch circle on a lighly greased baking sheet

Bring sugar and next 3 ingredients to a boil in a heavy saucepan over medium heat, stirring constantly.  Cook until mixture is golden brown and candy thermometer registers 290 to 310 (about 15 min).  Pour sugar mixture over pecans on baking sheet.

Sprinkle with morsels; let stand 30 seconds.  Spread melted morsels evenly over top; sprinkle with remaining ½ cup toasted slivered almonds.  Let cool 1 hour.  Break into bite sized pieces.  Store in airtight container.

2 thoughts on “Almond Toffee

Leave a Reply

