Tomatillo Chicken Rice Bake

Creamy Cannellini and spicy roasted tomatillo salsa make this yummy!

This dish was so easy and so simple that my husband had doubts that it would even come out.  Actually the phrase was “This may have been a lapse in your otherwise brilliant culinary career.”  So was it the vindication that made it taste so good?  Who knows.  The point is that there are 5 ingredients and one dish and it’s delicious.

I just discovered the traditional Campbell’s Chicken and Rice Bake a few months ago. No seriously, I had only heard about this ultra-simple dish and it’s vast following. It seems like everyone I know was raised on this quintessential one-dish meal, but not me.  I’m trying to make up for lost time now.

My toddler can now make the traditional Chick/Rice bake by himself if I open cans and add the chicken so I’m trying to expand on it. He (like me) tends to like the food more when he’s invested a little effort in them.  This version is a little too spicy for him–there were tears when he tasted the salsa and his cup of milk wasn’t close by.

Five ingredients, one dish and it couldn't be easier

Tomatillo Chicken Rice Bake

1 16 oz jar Native Texan Green Salsa
1 C Jasmati Rice
3/4 C Water
2 can cannellini/navy beans, drained*
1 lb boneless/skinless Chicken Thighs
Juice of 1 lime

4 oz Chihuahua or mozzarella cheese, shredded (optional)

Preheat oven to 375.  Mix all ingredients in a 13X9 glass baking dish. Place chicken on top of rice mixture and sprinkle with S&P or Adobo seasoning.  Bake uncovered for 35-45 minutes. Top with cheese last 5 minutes to melt.

*I only used one can of beans and we agreed that there could be lots more.

Leave a Reply

